State Extension Advisory Council Business Meeting Minutes

July 14, 2022

Kentucky State University Cooperative Extension Building

The State Extension Advisory Council (SEAC) business meeting was called to order by President Karen Hill at 1:24 pm, on July 14, 2022 at the Kentucky State University (KSU) Cooperative Extension Building. Minutes from the Winter meeting were read and approved.

Karen introduced Debbie Zuerner to give the report on the Council Engagement Committee. The committee discussed having 2 virtual meetings before our Winter meeting and also discussed how to communicate with the "county to state" and "state to county" councils.

There was no new business.

Karen asked Kim Henken to help recognize the incoming and outgoing delegates. The new delegates, who were unable to attend the March meeting, were introduced by Karen: Tanya Berry, from Wayne County, serves as a KSU Delegate; Diane Cushman, from Wayne County, serves as a KSU delegate; Dwayne Duncan, from LaRue County, serves as a KSU delegate; David Rings, from Russell County, is area delegate from East 1; Jim Gilles, from Daviess County, is a programmatic delegate for agriculture and natural resources; Janet Hobbs, from Meade County, is area delegate for West 6; Ann Davis McClain, from Bourbon County, is area delegate from C2; and Jason Slone, from Knott County, is alternate area delegate from East 4.

Kim Henken recognized the outgoing delegates, whose terms will end at the end of the calendar year, with an introduction and Karen Hill presented a framed certificate to show our appreciation for their service. The outgoing delegates are: Teresa Combs, Breathitt County, representing East 5; Susan Hansford, from Pulaski County, East 2; Melanie Kelley, from Carlisle County, served as a 4-H Delegate; Tracy Mitchell, from Edmonson County, representing West 7; Kathy Setterman, from Greenup County, representing East 8; and Mattie Spaulding, from Anderson County, representing C4.

Although she was unable to attend, Ann Porter was recognized by Karen Hill. In accordance with our bylaws, she has been serving in an advisory capacity as past president.

Karen announced our next state meeting will be February 28 and March 1, 2023, in Lexington at the Embassy Suites on Newtown Pike.

Karen asked if there was any further business to discuss or announcements. Becky Utz, from Boone County, made the motion to adjourn, and it was seconded by Riff Turner, from McCracken County. Meeting was adjourned at 1:40 pm.